Paris Saint-Germain Neymar

Paris Saint-Germain officially named Ligue 1 champions for third consecutive season

Paris Saint-Germain Neymar
Photo credit: PSG


The 2019-20 Ligue 1 champions have been crowned and it's Paris Saint-Germain! This week, it was announced the French league would be cancelled due to the growing concerns of the coronavirus pandemic. 


However, despite their being 11 games left to be played in the season, Ligue 1 has gone ahead and announced PSG as the champs. This gives the Paris powerhouse its third consecutive crown. 



In 27 games this campaign, PSG had 22 wins, two draws and three losses. Its 68 points stand 12 clear of No. 2 Marseille, which had 56 points in 28 matches. 


This latest title only adds to PSG's dominance in the last decade in France. Since 2013, the team has won the league seven times. The only year they didn't in that stretch was 2017. Goodness me.


The club was led in goals this season by Kylian Mbappe, who found the back of the net 20 times in Ligue 1 play. Neymar added 13 goals, while new signing Mauro Icardi chipped in with 12. 


This wasn't how PSG drew up bringing home more hardware, but fans will gladly take it. This championship is one that should no question be celebrated, as France's best team is at the top once again.

Don't forget to shop our PSG collection! Use code PSG10 for 10% off your purchase today! 
Back to blog